Furry Friday 3/15/13

In today’s issue of Furry Friday I’m going to talk about fostering a dog or cat. Many rescues advertise “fosters needed”. People unfamiliar with the animal rescue process may not know what this means.

Foster homes are temporary homes that a rescue ,which does not have a physical shelter building, utilizes to be able to rescue more dogs or cats. Foster homes are the gateway between danger and a forever home. Foster parents provide an amazing service to a shelter or rescue. Without foster homes, the amount of animals saved would be greatly reduced.

Some people may think it’s cruel to house an animal and get it used to your home and family and then give it up. No, I don’t believe it’s cruel. What is cruel is unnecessary euthanization of healthy animals. Yes, the dog must adjust, but if there were no foster homes, the dog or cat would not have had a chance at all.

I’ve fostered a few times and no, it’s not easy. You get extremely attached and it is hard to see the dogs  (or cats) get adopted. However, it is extremely rewarding knowing that you helped a dog or cat get a new home.

My first foster

My first foster, Sosi!

I’m a big advocate for foster homes. It allows rescues to serve many more animals. If you are interested in fostering, contact your local shelter or rescue. They should have more information. You can even search the internet for rescue groups in your area needing fosters and complete the application right on their site.

Every rescue is different but all the ones I’ve fostered for covered all vet bills and provided crates, leashes, bowls, medication, and toys for the dog. One rescue even provided a stipend for food for the foster dog. Even though I’ve never fostered a cat, I’m sure most rules are the same. Visit Foster Dogs for more information on fostering.

So, if you’d like to help a rescue by housing a dog or cat temporarily…  do it! Become a dog or cat foster parent. It’s very rewarding!

 

About Craving Kindness

I am a stay-at-home mom who is passionate about my family, animal rescue, my vegan lifestyle, and leaving a kindness trail in my life. I created this blog to share things that inspire me.

Leave a comment