RSS Feed

Cruelty Free Products

Whether you’ve been a long-time vegan or vegetarian or you’ve just made the leap to embrace the plant-based lifestyle, eating is only part of the big picture.

For about a year I was under the assumption that since I was eating a plant-based diet I wasn’t participating in the harming of animals. How wrong I was!! By continuing to use the same beauty products and wear the same clothes and shoes, I was contributing to companies that participate in  animal testing, animal abuse and neglect, and even worse.

So, where can you find cruelty free products? I am still on the search for some new, great, products and would appreciate any suggestions you may have.  However, I do have a few tried and true products I stand by and I’d like to share them. Not everything I use is vegan, but all are cruelty free. I will slowly make the change.

Cruelty-Free Compassionate Shopping Guide : LeapingBunny.org

1) Zoya Nail Polish

Finally, a vegan polish that shines and looks great. I did find that some colors chip more easily than others. The colors I’ve tried with glitter seem to last longer. They do sell an Armor Top Coat that I’m going to try and see if that helps stop the premature chipping. I must be living under a rock  because I did not know that Zoya makes lip gloss. I can’t wait to try some! Another great thing about Zoya polish is that it’s pretty easy to find. I’ve bought on their website before, but, the little salon I visit also sells it and I’ve seen it at other salons and spas.

Cruelty-Free Compassionate Shopping Guide : LeapingBunny.org

2) Lush

I love this company and their products. I tried their products by accident before I was vegan and I’m really glad my mom thought they were cool and gave them to me “just because”. I still use their Rehab shampoo (5 years later) and I love that their products are handmade.

Cruelty-Free Compassionate Shopping Guide : LeapingBunny.org

3) St. Ives Apricot Scrub

I’ve used this almost all my life and I was super happy to find out it is vegan friendly. It is also easily found at your local drug store or Wal-Mart and doesn’t cost an arm and a leg!

Other vegan-friendly products:

E.L.F. Cosmetics,Urban Decay, Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics, and Beauty Without Cruelty are some other vegan-friendly beauty product companies. Chinese Laundry and Steve Madden also make some vegan products.

 

I recently found this site, Leaping Bunny, that makes finding cruelty free products in a variety of categories easy.  They have an online guide and you can also request a Free Cruelty-Free Shopping Guide shipped right to your door. Important: cruelty free does not necessarily mean vegan so take that into consideration if it is important a product be completely vegan.

 

About Craving Kindness

I am a stay-at-home mom who is passionate about my family, animal rescue, my vegan lifestyle, and leaving a kindness trail in my life. I created this blog to share things that inspire me.

Leave a Reply

