RSS Feed

My Go-to Vegan Blogs for Recipes and Inspiration

vegan-oct-13-2010-200

 

Everyone always asks me where I get inspiration for my recipes and I always direct them to the same blogs. So, I thought I’d share my secrets with you. If any of these blogs are secrets, it has to be criminal, because many of the recipes they share are simply amazing.

1) Fat Free Vegan

When I first became vegan over two years ago, I was overwhelmed with the changes in cooking and uncommon ingredients often used in vegan recipes. Fat Free Vegan introduced me to many new and yummy recipes and helped make the change easier. When you are dealing with a food allergy like I was, it can be extra difficult. Susan Voisin saved many dinners and helped me to not starve in the beginning. One of my favorite recipes on her blog is E’s Super-Awesome Brussel Sprouts and Mushrooms.

 

2) Chocolate Covered Katie

Chocolate Covered Katie's Cookie Dough Dip

Chocolate Covered Katie’s Cookie Dough Dip

 

It is no secret to my friends and family that I have a HUGE sweet tooth. Chocolate Covered Katie was both the best and maybe the most dangerous blog I’ve come across. All her desserts are healthy and vegan so I don’t feel as guilty when I eat a whole bowl of Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip for breakfast. I’ve tried many of her recipes and I could easily polish off a whole batch of anything by myself.

 

3) Happy Herbivore

Lindsey from Happy Herbivore is both an inspiration and source of knowledge. I was lucky enough to interview Lindsey last year for the blog. All three of her cookbooks are a constant reference in my kitchen. The meal plans she offers on her blog are a lifesaver for a busy mom like me. Even if the rest of your family is not vegan, as is the case for me, the recipes are very versatile and I find that my family enjoys them as much as I do.

4) The Kind Life

One of the first vegan books I bought was Alicia Silverstone’s, The Kind Diet. The information and recipes in the book helped me when I made the switch to a plant-based eating style. Though some of the ingredients are hard to find in my area, there are many recipes that utilize more common ingredients and are easy to prepare.

5) Oh She Glows

This is a great blog. Angela has a ton of great recipes. She is also working on a cookbook due out in 2014.  I look forward to trying her Easy BBQ Tofu (sounds like a great recipe for dinner tonight)!

 

6) The Vegan Stoner

I love how this blog shows pictures of the ingredients in their recipes. Some how it connects with my brain easier and makes the ingredient searching go a lot faster.

7) Vegan Coach

This site not only has great recipes but contains tons of support and advice. Sassy has been a vegan for quite some time so, I visit her blog when I am in a rut or have any questions about recipes or ingredients. She is a vegan coach and also has a newsletter that gives tips, recipes, and advice.

 

8) Healthy Bitch Daily

Have you heard of the book Skinny Bitch? Yep, this is the blog of one of the authors, Kim Barnouin. I love her non-sugar coated style. She shares a wealth of information, inspiration, and recipes.

9) Post Punk Kitchen

I’ve referenced countless recipes from this blog. If you are looking for something new and yummy to try, Post Punk Kitchen is your place.

10) Chef Chloe

Here, my sweet tooth comes into play again. Chef Chloe is a vegan chef and former winner of Food Network’s Cupcake Wars. She is just amazing and all her recipes look delicious. I look forward to getting her cookbook, Chloe’s Kitchen.

chloekitchen

It was very difficult to narrow my list down to just ten blogs, so I will definitely be sharing other blogs that inspire me in the future. If you have a favorite vegan blog please share with us!

 

 

About Craving Kindness

I am a stay-at-home mom who is passionate about my family, animal rescue, my vegan lifestyle, and leaving a kindness trail in my life. I created this blog to share things that inspire me.

Leave a Reply

