RSS Feed

Surprising Sources of Calcium

When I first became Vegan many people told me I needed to make sure that I was getting calcium since I wasn’t eating dairy anymore. Most people think calcium is only present in dairy products. Wrong! Did you know that  1/2 cup  firm tofu contains 253 mg of calcium? That 25% of the recommended daily intake. Just to compare: 8 ozs. of whole milk contains 273 mg of calcium, but it also contains 8 grams of fat and 146 calories. The tofu contains  5 grams of fat and 94 calories.

A cup of kale contains 94 mg of calcium and much less fat and calories than dairy products. Click here for the whole article where I got my information.

Non-dairy sources of calcium are plentiful and healthier than their dairy counterparts. So, as a vegan, I find that I have no trouble getting beyond the recommended dose of calcium and keeping my bones healthy and strong. Just to re-enforce my point I wanted to share an article with you. Click here to read an interesting article entitled: Dairy Products Do Not Promote Bone Health.

I am simply amazed everyday at how easy it is to be healthier than I was when I ate meat and dairy. It is easier for me to get all my nutrition, have boat-loads of energy, extra stamina in running, better mood, clearer skin, no allergy symptoms, etc… I feel great and I owe it to my diagnosed dairy allergy and new way of eating!

Being vegan and eating a plant based diet is not for everyone, but it works for me and is so much healthier than the alternative.

About Craving Kindness

I am a stay-at-home mom who is passionate about my family, animal rescue, my vegan lifestyle, and leaving a kindness trail in my life. I created this blog to share things that inspire me.

Leave a Reply

