RSS Feed

The Importance of Spaying and Neutering

Today I wanted to discuss the importance of spaying and neutering your pet in order to save lives. Many people do not believe in spaying and neutering their pets or think that it’s important. They are wrong, so wrong. It is truly important, not only for preventing unwanted pregnancies, but for preventing cancer as well.

I can’t tell you how many times an older dog has come into shelter with minor health problems and then after taking them to the veterinarian we find out they have cancer. A cancer that could have been prevented had the animal been spayed or neutered.

In addition to preventing pregnancies and cancer, spaying and neutering your pet also has other benefits. These benefits include: eliminating spraying or marking of territory, minimizing the desire to roam,eliminating testicular cancer risk in males and reducing prostate disease, decreasing some incidences of aggressiveness, decreasing risk of breast and ovarian cancer in females.  Sterilization also adds an average of 1-3 years to your dog’s life and 3-5 years to your cat’s life. Click here  or here for more information on sterilization and to see where I confirmed some of my information.

Many people know that sterilization eliminates the risk of unwanted pregnancies but may think since they keep their dog inside or in a fenced in area there is no risk. Wrong! Your pet’s urge to roam drastically increases when the female is in heat or a male smells/senses a female in heat nearby. These animals will do almost anything to get to each other.

That brings me to a very funny story. About three  years ago I fostered a one and a half year old female husky. This was my first foster ever. The rescue had the nerve to give me a female who was about to go into heat. Well, she did. I did everything in my power to keep her 1)away from my other females who she wanted to eat 2) in my house and yard and away from other dogs. One day she decided that she didn’t want to stay inside anymore. She jumped right through my front screen door.

 

At the time, my sons were one and three years old. I immediately got the double stroller and started on my chase. I left out the best part…she was wearing a swim diaper. Yes, a toddler swim diaper. I never had a dog in heat and I didn’t have any doggie diapers. So, I did what worked in a pinch. I finally got her and called the rescue and had someone else take her.

So, if you think your dog or cat won’t try everything to get out and mate if they are not sterilized…WRONG. They will. I experienced it first hand. So many dogs get hit by cars or lost and I betcha in the majority of those cases the animals are not fixed.

So, if not to prevent litters of puppies or running away. Do it for your pets health. Like I said before sterilization reduces the risk of certain cancers. I cannot stress the importance of spaying and neutering. It is essential to all animal rescue efforts.

I will leave you with this quote from PETA’ s website “Spaying and neutering makes a big difference: Just one unaltered female dog and her offspring can produce 67,000 puppies in only six years. In seven years, one female cat and her offspring can produce an incredible 370,000 kittens”. 

Next Week: I will give you some low cost spay and neuter clinic information.

Sorry if this post sounds a bit abrupt, I just get tired of seeing animals get dumped off at shelters when people do not listen to what a million rescues and veterinarians say.

About Craving Kindness

I am a stay-at-home mom who is passionate about my family, animal rescue, my vegan lifestyle, and leaving a kindness trail in my life. I created this blog to share things that inspire me.

Leave a Reply

