RSS Feed

Furry Friday 3/9/12

Time for another edition of Furry Friday! To all my new fans, Furry Friday is a series of posts that occur every Friday highlighting some of the many dogs and cats available for adoption throughout the USA. Furry Friday is not sponsored by Petfinder, any shelter, or rescue, it is simply my way of getting the word out that there are many dogs and cats in need of a forever home. Hopefully, this will inspire some of my readers to adopt a furry friend.

Now, onto the featured animals this week. The first dog is Maximus from Great Falls Animal Shelter in Great Falls, Montana. He was turned in as a stray so, not much info is given on his post. He becomes available tomorrow if he is not claimed by his owner. So, if this is your dog, he is at Great Falls Animal Shelter. If not, he is looking for a forever home. So, go visit Maximus. He looks like a sweety.

The next dog is Bear. He is an Alaskan Malamute/Newfoundland mix puppy from Bunkie Animal Shelter in Bunkie, Louisiana.  This is going to be one big boy! Though puppies usually get adopted quickly, it is not the case in many high-kill shelters. I am not saying this is a high-kill shelter, just defending my reason for posting puppies in addition to older dogs. If you want more info on Bear visit his post.

The last dog for this week is Chompie from Humane Society of Central Arizona in Payson, AZ.  Chompie is a two year old terrier mix who was found as a stray. He is wary of strangers but is loyal to those he trusts. More information can be found in his post. He looks like a furry ball of energy and a fun friend!

Here is a cat for all you cat lovers out there. This is Connie from Delaware Humane Society in Delaware ,Ohio. She is six months old and already spayed. There is not much info in her post so, it would be best to contact the shelter for more information on Connie.

Hope you are now inspired to adopt a furry friend. For more information on any of the animals featured today, visit their posts or the shelter from which they temporarily reside.

About Craving Kindness

I am a stay-at-home mom who is passionate about my family, animal rescue, my vegan lifestyle, and leaving a kindness trail in my life. I created this blog to share things that inspire me.

3 responses »

  1. I think we have a great deal in common – except I have to work (even though I WANT to be a stay-at-home mom… sigh). My kids are in their teens now so working’s not as hard as it used to be. I foster homeless dogs & puppies – I wound up adopting the very first dog I fostered and I have found homes for all but one of her pups – he is still with me & will stay with me until he is adopted, however long that takes – I got mom & all eight pups when the pups were one day old, and the last pup will be eight months old next week, so as you can see I do believe in long-term commitment to our furry cousins. I’ve got an adult female foster who is crippled and for whom we are actively raising funds for surgery – she has to have two surgeries to correct her bi-lateral luxating patella; I just put two foster puppies onto a transport to NSAL this past Tuesday; and I’m getting ready to get two homeless Shiba mix pups this evening – my husband doesn’t know about the Shibas yet, hehehehe. I work directly with the Stokes County Humane Society and independantly – but SCHS does still support my efforts even when I’m working independently. So I’m lucky in that regard. I love all dogs, and don’t believe in “dangerous” breeds, so I will take anyone who needs me provided I’ve got room. Our local shelter is high-kill, but the animal control staff works dilligently with SCHS and other rescue groups to find homes for as many as they’re able. Sadly we’re a small, underfunded group working with a small, underfunded shelter and so we’re not able to save as many as we’d like. I started blogging in an effort to bring attention to the plight of homeless animals out there and what we humans can do to help them. So glad I found your blog – I’m looking forward to reading more!

    Reply
    • Thank You! I love dogs and have been working with them since I was in elementary school. We are currently taking a fostering break, though I’m getting the itch;) If you ever want me to post any of your available animals on Furry Friday, or if the shelter you are working with would like some animals showcased please let me know. I’d be more than happy to do so.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

