RSS Feed

Valentine’s Day Crafts

Are there any crafters out there? I hope so, because I’ve scoured the web to find some great Valentine’s Day crafts you can complete this weekend. Just a reminder, Valentine’s Day is MONDAY. I know, I know, it snuck up on me, too.

1) Homemade crayons

This is a really awesome idea. I’ve made these before in a regular muffin pan. These homemade crayons are featured on Disney’s Family Fun website.This is a great way to re-use all those broken crayons. We tend to have a lot of those in our house since a particular Husky seems to like to chew my children’s’ crayons.  It would be so cool to send your child to school with a heart crayon instead of the normal paper valentines. To access all the instructions and supplies needed visit the Family Fun website here.

2) Show your pets some love, too

Puppy craft

This craft idea is also from Disney’s Family Fun site. I couldn’t pass it up. It’s super easy and includes your pet in the Valentine’s Day festivities. The instructions and supplies can be found here, but it’s pretty easy. You only need a sheet of red foam, scissors, and  a dog collar to put it on. Cut a heart shape out of the foam and the rectangle in the middle, then slip on your pet’s collar. I’m sure the size of the heart can easily be altered to fit on a cat’s collar. So, make a heart slider for your pet’s collar before Valentine’s Day and get that special pooch or kitty in the Valentine’s Day spirit. This is something my mom would definitely do for her yellow lab, Maddie. I think she would like it much better than the reindeer ears she is forced to wear on Christmas.

3) Crayon and Wax Paper Hearts

 This craft is being made in my house tonight. Martha Stewart has the best ideas. I’m sure she has a whole team of people helping her, but I think everything she does is pretty amazing. So simple, yet so stunning. I would never think of something like this. It reminds me of ironing leaves in wax paper in the fall. I used to always do that as a child and share that tradition with my children every year. The instructions and supplies are located here. Pretty much all you need are broken crayons, wax paper, an iron, and string. I’ll be sure to post a picture later when ours are all complete.

4) Heart Tic Tac Toe

 Look at this adorable Tic Tac Toe set on Alphamom.com.  My boys love Tic Tac Toe and a Valentine’s version would be very sweet. It looks fairly easy. I can sew basic things, so the felt hearts aren’t a problem. You could also use fabric glue, with the dry beans in between the layers, if you do not sew. The instructions are here. How cool would it be to make this with your kids and then play a few games?

5)Funfetti Cookie Dough Balls

 The last craft that I’m going to feature on this post had to be an edible craft. We’re going to get hungry from all the crafting so why not make some yummy homemade vegan cookies. These are Funfetti Cookie Dough Balls from Chocolate Covered Katie. Now, again, my children are not vegan, but do eat some of my vegan food (usually only the desserts ;) They are obsessed with anything containing sprinkles so, I’m pretty sure these will be a hit. I’m going to use my heart cookie cutter to make them Valentine’s Day ready. Make sure that when you click here to get the recipe you check out the rest of Chocolate Covered Katie’sblog. This site is AMAZING and I’m pretty sure I’d be eating desserts everyday if  it was okay. Note, I didn’t say “healthy” because these are healthy desserts, but it can’t be healthy to eat any dessert all the time ;)

I hope that you enjoy the crafts that I highlighted and make some of your own with your children or for someone special this weekend. Make sure to come back on Monday when I show you all the crafts I made for Valentine’s Day!

About Craving Kindness

I am a stay-at-home mom who is passionate about my family, animal rescue, my vegan lifestyle, and leaving a kindness trail in my life. I created this blog to share things that inspire me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

